Reviews

Reviews by some of our guests from all parts of the world for a couple of weeks, months and years.

AirBNB Reviews

I gave Dean and Maggie and this property 5 stars because they are lovely hosts and the property was everything I had hoped for: great value in a great location. Dean and Maggie were responsive to every need that arose (which were few). Dean is an affable ex-pat Aussie and is a wealth of information on Dulangan and PG; Maggie is fastidious in all manner of detail. As hosts they were welcoming and caring and even arranged outings with us. Dulangan can be its own world separate from Puerto Galera, but it’s also close enough if the action of the town is what you want. The beach in back of the house is good for swimming, and even has, slightly to the left of the house and only about 20 feet out, its own coral area. Continuing along Dulangan road to its very end (3.5 KM) you will find the beautiful Bulabod Beach (drinks but bring your own food) and better coral. (I brought my own snorkelling gear with me). I stayed for a month. The apartment is spacious and airy and had all the basics that I needed for an enjoyable low-key stay. It felt like home. My firm intent is to return here for two months next year. Some assorted factoids to help with your decision and/or stay: There is a sari-sari store next door, and a basic vegetable stall close-by. Sandra, who runs the Sari-sari, is a mainstay for the apartments. Her nephew Ted was our go-to tricycle driver: 200 PHP to town for major groceries and return. The back deck on the apartment is well covered against sun and rain, so I was able to spend most days outside reading or working at the table. Dean says that this apartment gets hotter with the eastern sun, but for January this was no problem. Much better view from this apartment versus the green one next door. Several good and reasonable restaurants within a few minutes walk. My fave (and Dean’s) is Toots. Simple dinners 300 PHP, beer 50?; Sunday roast mega-meal 500 (arrive very early for that or reserve). Some nights great jamming by local musicians. January was unseasonably dull, with not many cloudless days, but I don’t feel it took away from the holiday. 30° in the day; 26° at night. Slept with the screen door open and the fan on. Never felt I needed the available air con. I had malaria tablets. That was a waste. No malaria in the coastal areas and very very few mosquitoes. Most people have screenless windows.
Ian Hornby – Canada : February 2017
All just great. I recommend to all for a relaxing holiday by the ocean.
Andrew Barkov – Russia : December 2016
Great place direct on the beach, we had a good time there, the sari sari shop next to the place, can organize transportation, bikes.
Patric Huttelmaier – Thailand : December 2016
Best place to stay at in Puerto Galera! We stayed here for almost 2 months and everything was perfect for us. We wanted to experience living like the locals do so this area (Dulangan Road) best fit our needs. Let me enumerate what we love about this place. – the house was very spacious – there is easy access to the beach (just a few steps away!) – the beach is great for snorkeling – a fully equipped kitchen – love the sunrise every morning – enjoyed the sound of the relaxing waves all day – quiet and friendly neighborhood – a small store next door whose owner (Ate Sandra) has been great and helpful during our stay – a vegetable store about 3 houses away – a fisherman neighbor (Ate Sandra’s husband) where you can buy the freshest seafood at a very reasonable price – easy access to the main road – for those days when you don’t feel like cooking, there are a few restaurants by the beach about 3 minutes by foot. Our favorite though is 174 Beach Bar and Resto, where you can play billiards for free as long as you order food/drinks. We especially love their fish and chips! And Precy, the waitress was very nice and accommodating. – If you need to seriously shop to stock up on supplies, there is a wet market and grocery store (Candava Supermarket) about 3 km away. – Best of all, the big discounts for monthly stay here at Aldanmar Apartments! Real value for your money! Biggest discount so far that I have ever seen on Airbnb. – And of course, Dean and Maggie are really great hosts. They make sure that we have everything we need and are always very helpful. There is only one thing I don’t like about this place… We enjoyed our stay so much that it’s so hard to leave… Thanks again Dean and Maggie!
Trina Grimalt – Philippines : July 2016
The location was perfect and has a coral area just in front of it. Went swimming every morning before breakfast and the apartment was exactly as promised. Found the internet better than expected and they were very accommodating. We were very pleased with every aspect of our stay there and will use them again if the opportunity presents itself. The only surprise we had was in clearing 66 Crown of Thorns Starfish from about 400 meters of coral. The locals seem to know these are bad creatures but not enough to remove them when they see them. Each day we found over a dozen but our last swim only yielded 4 so we know we did a good job clearing this section of coral. If they don’t protect their corals from such predictors they will loose then which would be a tragedy. All it took to safely handle these nasty creatures was a salad bowl and salad tongs. Best of luck to Dean and Maggie.
John Seepe – United States : June 2016
Just a good place and worth it… We stayed there for one month.. a really quiet place in front of the open water and what u need. A good quiet surrounding only the waves to hear… but also 3/4 Restaurants in walking distance only a step in front of the Beach. Only the City is a few km away but also how the Apartments good to reach. Dean and Maggie are really nice Hosts witch are really nice to communicate with. always helpful and good to be with… we met them a few times when we were asking for advise. Hope to see u soon :_( 🙂
Ramon Ruttkies – Germany : April 2016
Dean and Maggie – wonderful hosts. Attention and concern was felt from the first minute of your stay in the country, they have organized a shuttle service at night and themselves come to meet at the airport. Apartments are spacious, comfortable and clean. Maggie before the arrival of guests makes thorough cleaning – you feel that someone lived here before you. All you need is there, everything works. Problems that may occur during the stay, Dean quickly resolves. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need, you can prepare yourself. We basically used the grill and cooked supper right on the beach – very romantic. On the second floor – a large veranda under the tent with a gorgeous view of the sea, our favorite place to vacation. Restaurants in the village two, both with good food: Italian (I recommend the pizza and minestrone) and Tuts – delicious home-cooked meals, a pool table, and the host’s daughter sings and plays guitar. To get to any point of the island poses no problems: it is enough to go on the road – transport and you will catch. If the planned early departure, please contact Maggie, it will contact the driver and he will arrive at the appointed time. Maggie and Dean – hospitable and friendly people, always ready to help.
Алла Турчанинова – Moscow, Russia : March 2016
I stayed for several weeks here at Aldanmar Apartments and was nothing less than pleasantly happy every day. I woke up to waves and palm trees, and went to sleep to the stars and the sounds of the sea. After traveling for the past few months I was looking for a place to RELAX and center myself. This was perfect. It is a perfect place for one person or even a small group of people. The locals were nice and helpful, the landscape came off of a postcard, and I definitely caught back up on my rest and relaxation. Thanks so much to Dean and Margie for your hospitality and for everything. Best regards,
Brooke Vegan-Long – Canada : March 2016
Hi! It was really nice to stay in Dean’s apartment for month: big house, amazing view in the balcony, sound of sea. Unfortunately, there are a lot of stones in the sea near the house, but there are a great beach in 10 min walking with table and wifi (amazing! :). Also, there are another lonely and quiet beach in 3 km, it was great walk! Dean and Maggie were really kind and help us, thanks a lot!
Aleksey Kosinov – Russia : November 2015
Lovely stay in a great neighbourhood living with the locals who were very helpful. Beautiful views across the beach, and a lovely bar nearby called toots bar with food and drinks that welcomed us the first night. A beautiful island with lots to do!!
Alice Duke –  United Kingdom : September 2015
We loved our stay at Aldanmar Apartments. A beautiful location set on the beach with a comfortable accommodation. We had everything we needed for our stay. The internet is slow but it is pretty much everywhere in the area. Dean was very helpful in fixing that for us. We would recommend this place to anyone.
Diane Gullage – Canada : February 2015
Dean’s place is as depicted. He is a helpful and flexible host. The apartment is on the beach and in a convenient location. My family has used his place before and will use it again when needed. The only small problem is that the Wifi wasn’t working well this trip, but that wasn’t a big problem.
Robert Lyons – United States : December 2014
Dean and Margie were great hosts. Told and showed us everything what we needed during our monthly stay in July. Location is great for those who like local atmosphere more than turistic places. Village Dulangan is approx. 7 km form main turistic town of Puerto Galera, where you can buy almost everything. You can easily catch tricycle to town for 80 PHP-private/one way just in front of the house. Or rent a motorbike in one of two bars near the house (only for 300 PHP for small one+helmets, in town it is minimum twice more…), vegetable shop just next door, some small grocery shops around. The apparment is spacious with large terrace, kitchen with everything for basic cooking (pan, pot, knives, cutlery, plates, mugs, glasses etc…). Very romantic atmosphere with sounds of the sea. The only uncomfort thing is that the whole island has problems with electricity, average internet connection and water (Dean is trying to make his best to improve these general problems on Mindoro.), so you can expect several powercuts during the day and water presure is lower but good enough to take a hot shower and wash your long hair 😉 after swimming in the sea just few steps from backyard. For longer powercuts there is a generator. I was one of our best accommodation during more than 6 years of regular traveling as a couple. If there will be a chance to come back, we will definitely do it! Thanks again and wish a lot of luck!
Adela and Tomas – Czech Republic : July 2014
The apartment is clean and comfortable with direct access to the lovely beach. The apartment is one floor down from road level, so is very quiet. Dean (owner) is very friendly and happy to help with anything. Only ten minutes from town and lots of sari stores nearby to buy basic groceries and such, as well as 2 great beach bars which both serve excellent food. Sit on the terrace with your coffee and enjoy the amazing sunrises over the bay!
James Taylor – South Africa : April 2014
Dean was there to meet us at the dock and arranged transport to appt. It is a good way out of Town in a very quiet location, just a couple of local bars and places to eat check out Toots beach bar for good company and food. The appt has simple basic furnishings but was comfortable enough for 3 adults and 2 children. It has a standby generator which is good enough for basics like lighting and fan but not enough for air con and shower. Cooking facilities are available but stores are back in Town. Dean and Maggie are great hosts and will do whatever they can to make your stay comfortable.
Mark – United Kingdom : July 2014

Flipkey/Tripadvisor Reviews

 

FlipKey

 

FlipKey